Notice of election

Note to all staff members

The following election notice has been issued by the Electoral Office, the members of which are given in Annex I, in accordance with Article 5 of the procedure for election of the Brussels Local Staff Committee confirmed by the general meeting on 10 October 2002.

1. Date, time and place of elections

The dates for the election of the Brussels Local Staff Committee, as determined by the general meeting, are 2, 3 and 4 December 2002. Opening times of polling stations, as determined by the Electoral Office, will be 09.00 hours to 17.30 hours non-stop on each of the three days. If the quorum has not been reached after these three days, the electoral period will automatically be extended by ten working days from 5 to 18 December 2002 (Article 14(d) of the Procedure for election).

Electors may vote only once; otherwise their vote will be void.

The provisional list of the polling stations is given in Annex 2. Some buildings will be served by a mobile polling station. The times when this polling station will be present will be announced in due course.

Should it be necessary to extend the voting period by ten working days, four fixed polling stations and one mobile station will be opened. Staff will be informed later off where they are located.

For other places of employment, the deadline by which postal votes must reach the President of the Electoral Office is 17.30 hours Brussels time on 4 December 2002 (Article 14(c)).

2. Entitlement to vote

The electoral roll will be put on display in all Commission buildings in Brussels on 25 October 2002 and it will be brought to the notice of officials and other staff employed outside Brussels. Provided they are on the electoral roll, are entitled to vote the staff members who on 25 October 2002 are:

- officials of the institution
- other servants within the meaning of the Staff Regulations, whose contracts are for an indefinite period or for a year or more, and those whose contracts are for less that a year provided they have been employed by the Commission for at least six months.

The electors concerned are:

- those serving in Brussels
- those serving in places in a Member State other than Brussels but not in one of the following places: Luxembourg, Ispra, Karlsruhe, Geel, Petten, Culham, Seville and France.

The Administration will publish an updated electoral roll. This roll will be completed and eventually closed within the deadlines indicated in art. 4 of the Procedure for election, namely on 12 November 2002. Exclusively on this basis the concerned personnel will be entitled to vote.

3. Voting procedure

Voting: votes must be cast as follows:

- a. vote for a list: a cross must be placed in the box beneath the number and the abbreviation of the list chosen (block-list vote);
- b. vote for a maximum of 27 candidates for full membership and alternate membership, chosen from one or more lists: a cross must be placed in the box opposite the name of each candidate chosen, up to a maximum of 27 candidates (preference vote).

Ballot papers bearing both a cross against a list and further crosses against the names of candidates <u>on the same list</u> will be treated as preference votes by the Electoral Office. Ballot papers bearing any other writing, signature, erasure or mark whatsoever will be declared void.

Votes may not be cast by telephone, fax, electronic mail or any other electronic means.

4. Postal votes

Early voting

Electors in Brussels who for some reason (mission, leave) expect to be unable to vote on 2, 3 and 4 December 2002 at a polling station may, on presentation of their staff card between 18 and 29 November 2002 (09.00 hours to 17.30 hours), obtain a ballot paper from the Electoral Office (SC 11 9/56). They must complete this ballot paper immediately and place it in the ballot box provided.

Postal votes

- Electors serving outside Brussels who are represented by the Brussels Local Staff Committee will each receive an individual ballot paper. The completed ballot paper (see 6 below) must reach the Electoral Office RP-3 2/15, 200 rue de la Loi, 1049 Brussels no later than 17.30 hours Brussels time on 4 December 2002.
- Electors in Brussels who are unable to vote on 2, 3 and 4 December 2002 (for reasons of sickness) may ask for a ballot paper to be sent to them. The completed ballot paper must reach the Electoral Office, SC-11 9/56, 200 rue de la Loi, 1049 Brussels, no later than 17.30 hours Brussels time on 4 December 2002.

5. Postal voting procedure

- Postal votes must be sent inside three envelopes.
- The inner envelope must contain the ballot paper and be unmarked. It will be placed in the ballot box provided for this at the Electoral Office's premises (SC-11 9/56)
- The second envelope must bear the personnel number, name and signature of the elector, and will be joined to the electoral roll.
- The outer envelope must bear the name and address of the President of the Electoral Office: Mr Pasquale MICONI SC-11 9/56, 200 rue de la Loi, 1049 Brussels.

6. Nomination of candidates

Nominations must combine a candidate for full membership and a candidate for alternate membership. They should be submitted in writing to the Electoral Office, SC-11 9/56, 200 rue de la Loi, 1049 Brussels no later than 17.30 hours Brussels time on 29 October 2002. They must be in the form of a list containing no more than 27 nominations.

Candidates' personnel numbers must appear on their nominations.

No candidate may be nominated on more than one list.

Each list submitted must bear the signature of the candidate for full membership whose name appears first on the list. For the purpose of checking nominations (Article 7 of the Procedure for election), the Electoral Office requires that each list be accompanied by declarations of acceptance from each candidate for full or alternate membership.

The order in which candidates appear on each list is determined by the list.

A meeting between the Electoral Office and the candidates whose names appear first on each list shall be held, after nominations have been checked, at 17,30 hours on 30 October 2002. The list numbers shall be drawn by lot at this meeting.

{PRIVATE} for the Electoral Office
Pasquale MICONI

President

ANNEX 1 : Composition of the Electoral Office

President

Pasquale MICONI	54328	MO-51 6/14	
1 1			

Vice-Presidents

Peter DE VISSCHER	66682	L130 04 /183
Roberto HAYDER	66809	BREY 8/76
Didier HESPEL	59052	DM-24 01 /89

Assesseurs

Michel CHAPUIS	54106	LX-46 2/57
Carmen DEL CAMPO PEREIRO	62777	IMCO 02 /8A
Rudy DRUINE	93377	BU-1 03 /69
Alain JAUME	68617	BU-9 3/23
Sergio PATANE	67903	SDME 7/64
Hans Juergen SCHMEHR	62563	SC-11 10/15
Andrea SERVIDA	58186	BU-9 03 /17
Henri SPEYBROUCK	99050	CCAB 01 /1
Immacolata TAFARO	58762	SC-27 4/39

Secretary

Maria-Cristina MAROLDA 94624 SC-11 9/56

Secretariat of the Electoral Office

Maria-Cristina MAF	ROLDA	94624	SC-11 9/56
Dominique de YOR	K	90161	SC-11 9/56
Adresse e-mail	Intranet : Internet :		P PERS BUREAU ELECTORAL UREAU-ELECTORAL@cec.eu.int
Fax: 98275			

The Office will be open each working day non-stop between 0900 hours and 1730 hours until the end of the elections

ANNEXE 2 Provisional list of the polling stations

Zone	Bâtiments/Buildings		
1. Cortenberg	C80		
	C100		
2. Schuman	JECL		
	IMCO		
	CHAR		
	CHAR restaurant		
3. Breydel	BREY		
	N-85		
4. Froissart	CCAB		
	DM24		
5. Joseph II	J-27		
	J-54		
	J-99		
6. Loi	L-130		
	L-86		
7. ORBN	GUIM		
	SC27		
8. Belliard	B-7		
	VM-2		
	L-41		
9. Luxembourg	SDME		
	MO34		
10. Montgomery	CSM-2		
<i>U</i> - <i>y</i>	N-105		
11. Evere	G-12		
12. Beaulieu	BU-5		
	BU-24		
	BU-29		

Mobile polling station

The polling stations will be open from 0900 hours to 1730 hours, with the exception of those situated close to cafeterias and restaurants, whose opening hours will vary according to the opening hours of the relevant cafeterias and restaurants.